My Little Haute Book

Blah, outnet.com, outlet service

Posted in Life Is So ___ by StarGazer on March 23, 2010

With the backing of its reputable sister company Net-a-porter, I finally flexed my fingers at Outnet.com, my first time, with confidence and high expectation. (well, their return method sort of was the deterrence for my delayed patron status). But how my expectation failed me! Last week, they held a mouth-watering go-going-gone-gone event and I managed to obtained a couple of items that ‘should’ fit me. Yeh, they “should” fit, but I still don’t know yet as they still have not arrived. When I placed the order last Tuesday, the message said that the processed order are ‘usually’ being dispatched within 48 hours. But the order seemed to take forever to process, it comparatively feels like “forever” especially when I received an order from another company in 2 days as it declares on its website.

I phoned Outnet.com on Monday and the lady who answered the phone politely informed me that the event was extermely popular “as expected” and their warehouse was backlogged with orders. Erm, if the backlog was foreseeable, why didn’t they implement contingency fulfillment plan? Or, at least update the fulfillment message to reflect its expected delay of delivery?

Anyhow, they got back to me today via email (as instructed and thank you) and informed me another tragic news: the dress that I ordered was run out and my order was taken mistakenly by their inventory system. Grggggg. Do they understand that they also cost me my opportunity cost here??? I could have done some research else where, including websites in the States. Yes, I online-shop and research Trans-Atlantic-ally.

I think this company really needs to think about how to incorporate technology into their business process. How about a Content Management System that allows the business to update the message when needed; build a simple algorithm to track its ordering traffics and automatically calculates a watermark to cushion their orders so that they won’t overbook their orders and disappoint their customers. Ok, maybe I’m being presumptuous here, maybe they do have everything in place and I was just being stuck by bad luck, twice in a row. But, still!

Nowadays, shoppers demand more and more from a company. Providing the best product selection and pricing is no longer the bottom line to grant a business its success. Every interaction is a chance to either build customer’s trust and hopefully loyalty, or to, crush both. Worse, in my case, I blogged about this poor customer experience and made a scratch on its brand image. Oops.

xxos

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

